Lori Mould's everyday life!

Visit to NOLA comes to an end (for now)! October 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Lori Mould @ 3:33 am
Tags: , ,

Sadly, my visit to NOLA is coming to an end as I will be leaving for the airport in a few short hours. I am always touched by the nature of the people in Louisiana! This trip I gathered information from Susan as she sat next to me on the flight from Charlotte to New Orleans, Cynthia’s brother that I called out of the blue for information and a tour of Buras, LA, and just the thankfulness and kind words that everyone shows/says for the fact that we come here to help!!
The people in Louisiana have embraced me and are always willing to help in any way that they can. I can say this…”Trust me when I tell you that everyone here has given me more than I have ever given them!”
As I have said before and I will continue to say that coming to New Orleans in September 2009 for the every first time has forever changed my life. The experience has touched me in a way that I was not expecting. Every time I get the chance to venture down roads that I have not been down before…there is a sadness for the families that have no homes to raise their children, the front yards that are devoid of children playing chase, schools that sit quietly rotting in disrepair, and mostly for the fact that these communities that once embraced each other as family are struggling to fight through all of the red tape to become thriving communities again!!
I would love to extend an invitation to anyone that has not had or taken the opportunity to come to New Orleans or the Gulf Coast region to help in the rebuilding process to please, please, please gather up some friends, family members, church members, or yourself and come here to help the fine folks get back into their homes, neighborhoods, and schools!

 

Leave a Reply

