Lori Mould's everyday life!

NOLA Day #4 October 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Lori Mould @ 9:39 am
Tags: , , , , ,

SO, we ended day #3 at Snug Harbor with some great food, people, conversations about everything under the sun, and awesome music. I had an amazing conversation with Bryce and Damion Neville before the performance about New Orleans and Louisiana before, during, and after Katrina. Every time that I hear another person’s perspective on what transpired on and after the dreadful day I cannot help but wonder why this can happen in this great country of ours. Why is that that OVER 5 YEARS after Katrina made landfall there are still areas that do NOT have hospitals??? Or schools that have never reopened??? Or entire neighborhoods that haven’t been rebuilt??? I am sorry but I cannot even begin to wrap my head around those facts or why this can happen in America!! Where is the national outcry that injustices are being done right here in America??
I have heard so many people say that they don’t understand why the New Orleanians went so crazy about the Saints winning the Super Bowl….that is easy! In an area that has suffered through Katrina and Rita (are various other issues…yes, BP being a huge one), so much negative news media, every type of government failure from city, state, parish, and federal, and the list goes on and on…why would they not want to bask in the hope and splendor of their team showing the entire world that the New Orleans area (and the entire population of the Gulf Coast) and its people may have been down but the will NOT allow themselves to be kept there by anyone.
The spirit and resilience of the people in Louisiana and the Gulf coast region is impressive. A good friend just recently told me that with all of the media attention going to the New Orleans area that the nation forgets that there are other areas throughout the Gulf Coast region that were hard hit too. One of those areas is Buras, LA in Plaquamine’s Parish. Thank you Cynthia for giving my your brother’s number so that I can call him today.
More to come…

 

2 Responses to “NOLA Day #4”

  1. J.C. Romero Says:

    Don’t we all ask ourselves that! I had a great time with you last night!

  2. Lori Mould Says:

    I had a great time with you too! I was great seeing your smiling smile my friend!! See you tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

