Lori Mould's everyday life!

NOLA Bound BABY!! October 8, 2010


Just trying to get homework finished before heading off to New Orleans tomorrow. It is time to get the last of the footage for the documentary. The week is pretty much all mapped out with a few open spots for those last minute additions. I am looking forward to seeing everyone that I have had the privilege to meet over the last year.
It is hard to describe how much my eyes have been opened since my first trip to NOLA in September 2009! Gone are all of the misconceptions that come from the way that the media has covered what happened in the Gulf Coast Region. And with that comes a whole new understanding and enlightenment at the realities that the people in this region have to endure on a daily basis!
Being a Communications and Media Arts major and the fact that I will be getting into Photojournalism, the fact that the media has the power that they have to sway public opinions really scares me. Why is it that we almost never see the good side of human nature during catastrophic times? Any thoughts, questions, or concerns about this issue???

 

2 Responses to “NOLA Bound BABY!!”

  1. David Dodge Says:

    I think it is a shame that we do not see the positive side of humanity in traditional news mediums more often. I think it is because the media feels that people only want to see what is reckless and questioning. Kind of the watching nascar for the crashes mentality. I think they are wrong though it really is nice to see some good in the world at time, too! Then again, we can never forget that we wont appreciate the good if we don’t at least see some of the evil. Have a wonderful trip to NOLA, bring back some red beans if you can, and I cannot wait for my next trip down in November!

  2. Lori Mould Says:

    There is a lot of truth in the fact that we would not appreciate the good without the bad or evil…November will be amazing and I am looking forward to it also.
    I will see what I can do about bringing you some red beans but I cannot promise you anything cause I LOVE THEM and there may not be any leftovers!! Just saying….


Leave a Reply

